Territory Wars

Its always an interesting morning when you realize new homeless have moved in.  Or maybe they’ve just moved spots.  But the fun begins when then they get into territorial wars over it.

At about 9:10 in the morning, I found myself walking to work on 10th focusing on putting one foot in front of the other as mornings are not my best time of day.  Right foot, left foot, right foot, left foot.  I soon realized my footsteps were in sync with my morning playlist on my phone.

Up ahead, I saw two men flailing their arms at each other.  With a huff, I flicked my hood on and looked down.  As I walked closer I realized they were trying to get my attention.  Yanking out one of my earbuds, I decided to go with a simple, “What?”

“Well who was here first?” the shorter one asked.

I looked back and forth between two of them and immediately realized what was going on.  They were arguing over who’s corner this would be.

With a smile I replied, “You’re both new.  Find a new post. This belongs to the bearded man with almost black fingers who always asks for coins.”

Slightly wide-eyed and surprised, the two men looked at each other, looked at their hands, looked at me and finally decided to depart in opposite directions.

Good Morning Seattle

Leave a comment